Toronto Waterfront Marathon
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Sunday, October 20, 2013


Toronto Attractions

Black Creek Pioneer Village:
1000 Murray Ross Pkwy. Downsview at Steeles Ave. and Jane St.
416/736-1733
May-June weekdays 9:30am-4:30pm, weekends and holidays 10am-5pm; July-Sept daily 10am-5pm; Oct-Dec weekdays 9:30am-4pm, weekends and holidays 10am-4:30pm Closed Jan-Apr, Dec 25
Subway: Finch, then bus no. 60 to Jane St.
Admission Charged. free for children 4 and under. Parking fee
Life here moves at the gentle pace of rural Ontario as it was 100 years ago. You can watch the authentically dressed villagers going about their chores, spinning, sewing, rail splitting, sheep shearing, and threshing. Enjoy the villagers' cooking, wander through the cozily furnished homesteads, visit the working mill, shop at the general store, or rumble past the farm animals in a horse-drawn wagon. The beautifully landscaped village has more than 30 restored buildings to explore. Special events take place throughout the year, from a great Easter egg hunt to Christmas by lamplight.

Design Exchange:
234 Bay St.
416/363-6121
Mon-Fri 10am-6pm, Sat-Sun noon-5pm.
Subway: King
Admission Charged. free for children 13 and under.
Located in the old Stock Exchange Building, this has become Toronto's design center. It showcases professionals' work, but the main purpose of the institution is to nurture designers of all types: graphic, industrial, interior, landscape, and urban. It also serves as a clearinghouse and resource center for the design community. Small free exhibitions on the first floor are open daily, while those in the upstairs Exhibition Hall are usually on view for 3 to 6 months and require admission. There is also a good bookstore and a café.

Museum of Contemporary Canadian Art:
Toronto Centre formerly the Ford Centre for the Performing Arts
5040 Yonge St., North York
416/395-0067
Tues-Sun noon-5pm
Subway: North York Centre
Free admission
This fairly new gallery is charged with collecting and exhibiting the best Canadian art created since 1985. Currently, the collection includes works by Stephen Andrews, Genevieve Cadieux, Ivan Eyre, Betty Goodwin, Micah Lexier, Arnaud Maggs, and Roland Poulin. Special shows approximately six times a year.

The Bata Shoe Museum:
327 Bloor St. W. at St. George St.
416/979-7799
Tues-Wed and Fri-Sat 10am-5pm, Thurs 10am-8pm, Sun noon-5pm
Subway: St. George
Admission Charged. Free to all first Tues of the month.
The museum houses the Bata family's 10,000 item collection. The building, designed by Raymond Moriyama, is spectacular. The main gallery, "All About Shoes," traces the history of footwear. It begins with a plaster cast of some of the earliest known human footprints discovered in Africa by anthropologist Mary Leakey , which date to 4 million B.C., then takes the visitor through the fads and s of every era. A smaller gallery houses changing exhibits.

The Museum for Textiles:
55 Centre Ave.
416/599-5321
416/599-5515 for taped information
Tues and Thurs-Fri 11am-5pm, Wed 11am-8pm, Sat-Sun noon-5pm
Subway: St. Patrick
Admission Charged.
This fascinating museum is internationally recognized for its collection of more than 8,000 historic and ethnographic textiles and related artifacts.

The Pier: Toronto's Waterfront Museum:
245 Queens Quay W.
416/338-PIER
Open daily 10am-4pm from early Mar to June 30, daily 10am-6pm from July 1 through Labor Day, and daily 10am-4pm from day after Labor Day through Oct 31Tues-Fri 10am-4pm, Sat-Sun noon-5pm Closed Nov to early March
Subway: Union, then LRT to York Quay
Admission Charged
This is one of the city's newer museums. It explores the history of nautical travel. Many exhibits are strictly hands-on, so it is popular with children. You can explore a shipwreck, guide a vessel through a series of canals, or watch special exhibits about the ancient art of shipbuilding. Waterfront tours.

Casa Loma:
1 Austin Terrace
416/923-1171
Daily 9:30am-5pm last entry at 4pm Closed Jan 1, Dec 25
Subway: Dupont, then walk 2 blocks north
Admission Charged. Self-guided tour by cassette.
free for children 3 and under.
This authentic castle-residence is complete with Elizabethan-style chimneys, Rhineland turrets, secret passageways, and an 800-foot underground tunnel. Sir Henry Pellatt, who built the castle between 1911 and 1914 at a cost of $3.5 million plus $1.5 million for furnishings , had a lifelong fascination with castles. He studied medieval palaces and gathered materials and furnishings from around the world, bringing marble, glass, and paneling from Europe, teak from Asia, and oak and walnut from North America. He imported Scottish stonemasons to build the massive walls that surround the 6-acre site. It's a fascinating place to explore. Wander through the majestic Great Hall, with its 60-foot-high hammer-beam ceiling; the Oak Room, where three artisans took 3 years to the paneling; and the Conservatory, with its elegant bronze doors, stained-glass dome, and pink-and-green marble. The castle has battlements and a tower; Peacock Alley, designed after Windsor Castle; Sir Henry's suite, containing a shower with an 18-inch-diameter shower head; and a 1,700-bottle wine cellar. The 800-foot tunnel connects with the stables, where horses resided surrounded by Spanish tile and mahogany.

Mount Pleasant Cemetery:
1643 Yonge St. or 375 Mount Pleasant Rd., north of St. Clair Ave.
416/485-9129
Daily 8am-dusk
Subway: St. Clair
Free admission
Home to one of the finest tree collections in North America, this cemetery is also the final resting place of many fascinating people. Of particular note are Glenn Gould, the celebrated classical pianist; Dr. Frederick Banting and Dr. Charles Best, the University of Toronto researchers who discovered insulin in 1922; golfer George Knudson; the Massey and Eaton families, whose mausoleums are impressive architectural monuments; Prime Minister William Lyon Mackenzie King; Canada's great war hero, Lieutenant Colonel William Barker; and Jim Cormier, one of Canada's top writers and editors.

Necropolis:
200 Winchester St. at Sumach St.
416/923-7911
Daily 8am-dusk
Subway: Parliament
Free admission
This is one of the city's oldest cemeteries, dating to 1850. Many of the remains were originally buried in Potters Field, where Yorkville stands today. Before strolling through the cemetery, pick up a History Tour at the office. You'll find the graves of William Lyon Mackenzie, leader of the 1837 rebellion, as well as those of his followers, Samuel Lount and Peter Matthews, who were hanged for their part in the rebellion. Anderson Abbot, the first Canadian-born black surgeon; Joseph Tyrrell, who discovered dinosaurs in Alberta; world-champion oarsman Ned Hanlan; and many more notable Torontonians can be found in the 15-acre cemetery. The Gothic Revival chapel was designed by Henry Langley, who is also buried here.

Art Gallery Of Ontario:
317 Dundas St. W
416/979-6648.
donation.
Tues. and Thurs.-Fri. 11-6, Wed. 11-8:30, weekends 10-5:30.
The AGO (as it's known) is among North America's top 10 art museums. It has the largest public collection of Henry Moore sculpture in the world, major works by Canadian artists, and works by Rembrandt, Hals, Van Dyck, Hogarth, Reynolds, Chardin, Renoir, Degas, Rodin, Matisse, Picasso, de Kooning, Rothko, Oldenburg, and others. Drop by the Anne Tannenbaum Gallery School on Sunday and explore painting, printmaking, and sculpting, or visit The Grange, an adjoining Georgian-style house built in 1817-18.